Munich # 3
THE ROADS AND THE SHOPPINGDate: 12th May, 2006 4:12pm
We spent some time in the nice room which was really above our expectations. There was a hotplate to cook and we were lucky to find a good caretaker (he was very friendly) of the house. Even all the utensils were provided by them. (Later, in the evening I found out that the pressure cooker and the non-stick pan that I had brought with me will not work on that hotplate as it was an Induction hotplate which runs on electromagnetic induction)
Makku took a shower in the bathtub ;) and I just washed my face and we were ready with Karn for our round 2 of Munich. The roads, as is the title of the post are a very fascinating place. First of all there are pavements everywhere for walking (you can not just start walking on the road). Now the tricky part.. pavements are divided into two as you can see in the picture. the portion towards the road is where you can not walk (as it is dedicated for cycle travellers) and if you do you may find someone on cycle behind you waiting for you to step aside so that he can go...
Yes people here don't shout. They have got lots and lots of patience. Even if somebody is getting late and he is in the car and he sees you crossing the road (small roads with no roadsigns), It is sure that he will stop for you to cross the road and wait till you are safe. Even on the roads you will never hear a horn. (yes.. NEVER. This thing we realised on the 4th day that we hadn't heard a horn sound since we had come) Everything is so well organized that you feel good to be a part of it and feel guilty if you break the rules.
There are so many cars that the cars are parked just aside the road and one thing that I noticed is that lots of people make two tyres of the car come up on the pavement and then park it (don't know why. till now). Everybody follows the lane system here and in normal city roads there are no dividers, yet there are no accidents.
So next we went to the University where Karn showed us our department and here itself we met another Indian guy Gaurav (from IITK) who is also in our department but had arrived on Monday. Karn invited us to dinner at his place and next we went to a cheap supermarket (Lidl) nearby and brought stuff of 10€ including juice, bread, butter, roti.... etc. etc.
Lidl or cheap supermarkets like Aldi Süd, Plus, Penny Markt etc are the source of all daily requirements that one can imaginge. You really get cheap stuff as these are the people who do manufacturing and packaging of the stuff they sell. So this way, there are no middlemen and you get good stuff for cheap (which is very important if you are living in a costly city like Munich). First of all I really liked the availability of juice here, 100% fresh natural juice was available in packaged form for decent price of 1.69€ per 1.5L. If this looks costly then you can get 50% juices for as low as 0.69€. All the items here are marked with the expiry date only (there is no manufacturing date mentioned, nehow what's the need). The curd (joghurt in german) was usable till next 20 days, packaged milk till next 2 months, refrigerated mix veg till next year (:D). Potatoes and onions were available in packed quantities of 1kg. and 2.5 kg (with expiry mentioned).
So we took a cart and got all the stuff to the counter and again one more technical advancement that we saw. Everything was automatic through bar code readers. The person sitting at the desk just takes the item over the small glass window and yo....... it is added in your bill. As soon as we gave 20€ note she entered the amount given (20€) and as soon as she pressed ENTER the money box opened and she gave remaining amount to us and locked it again.
We also came to know that nothing can be taken granted here. The plastic bags (given free after the purchasing for carrying stuff) costs 0.06€ per bag. That people can live in a city where there is no drinking water supply (it is another fact that the water supplied at everybody's home is drinkable). We also considered it a good option to drink water from tap (which is what almost every student and some people do here) than to buy drinking water for another 1.89€ for 1.5 L (gosh..!! the juice is cheaper than the water.. , waise beer bhi cheaper hai ;) ).
So after this buying we went to Karn's room. Enjoyed the dinner made by him (it was really gud). Drank the Ice Tea (which is even cheaper than the 50% juice ;) and which Siva could not drink at that time) and at around 10pm left for our room. Reached there and slept till next morning 10am.
P.S. All the photographs are not taken by me but they resemble to the things we saw very much.. hehe



